Make an Appointment Now!


45 Bromfield Street

Suite 500

Boston, MA 02108

Downtown Crossing near Granary Burying Ground between Nine Bar and Bromfield Jewelers










Weekdays: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Other times by Appointment.


  • Google Places Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Yelp Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

DISCLAIMER: You may not use this website to provide confidential information about a legal matter of yours to me. Your use of this website does not make you my client or even my prospective client. If you have confidential information that you would like to give me, please communicate with me in person or by telephone–not by filling in any form on this website or by sending an unsolicited email to me.

  • Google Places Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Yelp Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

©2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 by Law Office of Matthew W. Peterson

No representation is made that the quality of the legal services to be performed is greater than the quality of legal services performed by other lawyers.

Nav Map

best criminal defense lawyer boston ma
  • Matthew W. Peterson

What is a 24D Disposition for an OUI in Massachusetts?

Updated: Mar 13

In Massachusetts, if you are charged with a first-time OUI or in some cases of second-time OUI, you could be eligible for a lesser sentence according to Mass. G.L. c. 90 §24D. This is referred to as a "24D Disposition."

Who Can Get a 24D Disposition in Massachusetts?

The section applies if this is your first OUI conviction or if you only have one prior OUI conviction and it happened more than 10 years before your sentencing date.

You can only get a 24D disposition once in your life. This means if you have ever had a 24D disposition before, you cannot receive one again.

Who Decides Whether I Can Get a 24D Disposition?

It is up to the judge, although the district attorney can also agree if appropriate.

What Happens if I Receive a 24D Disposition?

A 24D disposition provides for a lesser driver's license suspension and for probation instead of jail time. You will receive one-to-two years of probation, a driver alcohol education program, and possibly an in-patient alcohol treatment program.

Most importantly, the program allows for a maximum driver's license suspension of 90 days, instead of the two-year suspension for second-time offenders.

If you were under 21 at the time, your license will be suspended for 210 days.

If you live out of state or go to school out of state, you can attend a program in the other state, but it must pass certain requirements.

An OUI attorney in Massachusetts can help you determine whether you're eligible for a 24D disposition, other programs, or even have a defense to your OUI charge. Contact me today - I'd be glad to help!

My office is located in Boston, Massachusetts, but I handle criminal cases, including OUI, in all Massachusetts courts. Contact me at 617-356-8217.