What Are the Penalties for Drug Possession in Massachusetts?
Simple possession of a controlled substance in Massachusetts is a serious offense that requires an experienced drug possession defense attorney. The penalties depend on your record and the drug you're accused of possessing.
Remember that possession with intent to distribute is a different offense with different penalties.
For a first offense, possession of a controlled substance generally carries possible jail time of a year and a fine of $1,000. A second offense is still a misdemeanor and carries up to two years in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
Possession of heroin has more severe penalties. For a first offense, it's a misdemeanor punishable by up to two years in jail and a fine of $2,000. For a second offense, possession of heroin can mean from 2 1/2 to 5 years in prison or up to 2 1/2 years in the house of corrections.
Defense of possession of a controlled substance charge can be complex and requires an experienced drug defense attorney. Often, drug possession defense involves a motion to suppress, a motion that alleges the police searched you illegally. After a hearing, if the judge agrees to suppress the evidence, this often means the case will be dismissed.
Drug cases are often also resolved with a continuance without a finding (CWOF), which means that if you complete probation, the case will be dismissed.
If you're charged with drug possession or possession of a controlled substance, it's critical that you contact a drug possession attorney as soon as possible. While my office is headquarted in Boston, I represent people charged with drug possession in all Massachusetts. courts. Contact me today at 617-356-8217 and let's get started on your defense.